Eastern Nazarene College Holds Community Celebration Chapel

May 8, 2024

QUINCY – Eastern Nazarene College (ENC) celebrated another year of academic excellence with a Community Celebration Chapel on April 25 in the Wollaston Church of the Nazarene.  All members of the College community are encouraged to attend and celebrate the achievement that is graduation, along with the individual awards and future plans of each student. 

This year, the ceremony opened with worship from a graduating chapel team, followed by jokes from students and faculty, read aloud by the Department of Student Life. Students could anonymously submit toasts or “roasts” for their professors to say goodbye, and faculty and staff could do the same for students, but were not afforded the same anonymity. Dr. Bill McCoy welcomed the four finalists for Outstanding Senior, an all-around impressive student that not only demonstrates academic excellence but embodies the values and mission of the College. This annual award is voted on by the staff and faculty of the College and is presented to the award winner at Commencement. 

Division and Program Awards  

Each academic department has the opportunity to recognize students who went above and beyond within their area of study during this chapel.

Life and Chemical Sciences  

Madison Rearick, Outstanding Senior in Life & Chemical Sciences  

Engineering and Technology  

Patrick Lule, Outstanding Senior in Physics  

Theodore Roche, Outstanding Senior in Computer Science  

Jorge Gonzalez de Ara Fernandez, Outstanding Senior in Math  

Duc Viet Nguyen, Outstanding Senior in Engineering  

Brendan Smith, Outstanding Graduate in Information Technology  

Social Sciences  

Mya Landry, Outstanding Senior in Psychology  

Delaney Walker, Outstanding Senior in Crime, Law, and Justice  

Teacher Education  

Jordyn Fitch, Outstanding Senior  

Angela Fernquist, Outstanding Senior  


Allison Deaton, Outstanding Student Award  

Samuel Rosas, Business Faculty Award  

Future Plans

Graduating students may also share their post-graduate plans with the greater community during this chapel. New alumni have several paths to further their education or embark on their careers.

Continuing Education

Colby Snook  

Accepted to Liberty University, Master of Arts in History  

Jordyn Fitch  

Accepted to Eastern University, Reading Specialist Master’s Program  

Alan Parmeter  

Accepted to Point Loma Nazarene University, Master of Arts in Writing  

Mya Landry  

Accepted to Rivier University, Doctor of Psychology in Counseling and School Psychology  

Madison Rearick  

Accepted to Curry College School of Nursing, Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing  

Tyra Davis  

Accepted to Eastern Nazarene College, Master of Science in Management in Healthcare Administration and Southwest Nazarene University, Master of Science in Management in Healthcare Administration  

Career Paths

Delaney Walker  

Working for the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections as a Rehabilitation Technician  

Josiah Golden  

Working for Owego First Church of the Nazarene as Director of Sports Ministry and Media  

Inductees to Honors Societies

Eastern Nazarene College is home to several chapters of respective academic Honors societies. Inductees to these prestigious societies are also recognized before the College at this Community Celebration Chapel.

Alpha Phi Sigma, Criminal Justice Honor Society

Kenna Cruise

Danielle Gilling

Thalia McNutt

Karla Polanco

Delaney Walker

Pi Lambda Theta, Education Honor Society

Jessica Anderson

Angela Fernquist

Jordyn Fitch

Patrycja Gradziuk

Juliana McDonald

Emily Morris

Colby Snook

Mailekenfa St. Jules

Phi Alpha, Honor Society for Social Workers

Samantha Thornton

Phi Alpha Theta, National History Honor Society

Piper Bolner

Eastern Nazarene College Honors Scholar Society

Juan Camacho Rodriguez

Ricardo Cuello

Silvio De La Rosa

Javier Osowski-Friere

Jenna Reed

Heidy Valladeres Yanez

Chi Alpha Sigma, National College Athlete Honors Society

Eliana Baran, Women’s Volleyball

Kobe Dunbar, Men’s Basketball

Andrew Fitzpatrick, Men’s Cross Country/Men’s Basketball

Vittal Harith, Men’s Tennis

Isiah Johnson, Men’s Basketball

Nariechka Melendez Mercado, Women’s Volleyball

Franco Milivinti, Men’s Tennis

Mackenzie Murray, Women’s Softball

Madison Murray, Women’s Softball

Esther Pierville, Women’s Cross Country

MacKenzie Quick, Women’s Soccer

Psi Chi, International Honor Society in Psychology

Ashley Caldwell

Andy Edouard

Iela Galiano-Williams

Delaney Walker

ENC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Hosts Special Olympic Event

ENC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Hosts Special Olympic Event

QUINCY - On Sunday, April 28, the Eastern Nazarene College (ENC) Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) hosted a Special Olympics Unified Sports basketball game at the Lahue Athletic Center between the Dorchester Blue Devils and the SOLynn Bombers from Lynn,...